Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Notice_The Confirmation of Intellectual Property Scam

You are probably aware of the Nigerian email scams by now. But have you gotten this one from China? A seemingly responsible company in China has noticed that someone is trying to register your domain. Doing their due diligence they are looking to contact the rightful owner to confirm your partnership.

Here is a copy of my latest letter.

Subject: Notice__The Confirmation Of Intellectual Property Date: Mon 6/29/2009 8:16 PM

Dear Sir/Madam:

This is the China Internet Service Provider, who mainly duty for domain name and the Internet Trademark registration work.

Here, we have some important thing confirm with your company .On June 29th 2009,We received an formal application ,one company named "Meihua Investment Group"
want to register "yourdomain" as their CN/ASIA domain names and Internet Trademark on Internet .

After our initial examination, we find the domain name and the Internet Trademark applied for registration are the same with your company's name and trademark. One point
need you to confirm that whether the alleged Meihua Investment Group is your business partner or distributor in Asia?

If like that,we will finish the group's application. If the group is not you partner, please let the someone who is responsible for this matter to contact us as soon as possible to deal
with the matter. Thank you!

Looking forward to hearing your reply!

Best regards!

Alice Xia
Auditing Department:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
China Internet Service Provider:
Yiguan(Shanghai) IT Co.,Ltd
Tel : 0086-021-6296 2950
Fax: 0086-021-6296 1557
Mail:alice@dnisp.cn
Web:www.dnisp.cn
Mail No.:200030
-----------------------------------------


They want me to hire them to dispute the evil Meihua investment company. Little do they know that supposedly another nefarious company, Z-S Media, already has my domain in China, Hong Kong, Taiwan etc. in 2008.


Dear CEO,

We are the department of registration service in China. We have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application. One company which called "Z-S Media Corporation." are applying to register "YourCompany" as internet brand and CN domain names “www.yourdomain.cn & www.yourdomain.com.cn & www.yourdomain.net.cn & www.yourdomain.org.cn & www.yourdomain.hk & www.yourdomain.com.hk & www.yourdomain.tw & www.yourdomain.com.tw” on March 31, 2008. After our initial examination, we found that the internet brand applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark.These days we are dealing with it, hope to get the affirmation from your company. If your company has not authorized the aforesaid company to register these, Please contact us as soon as possible. In addition, we hereby affirm that our time limit for dissent application is 15 days. If your company files no dissent within the time limit, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by "Z-S Media Corporation.".

Best regards,

Jimmy Liu
Senior Consultant

T: 0086-21-52715980
F: 0086-21-52715978
Web-site: www.mips-china.org.cn
Address:11/F, Building A, Oasis Plaza, 137 Bailan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China

When we wrote Mr. Jimmy Liu back in 2008 to say we have no affiliation with Z-S Media Corporation this is the response we got.

From: jimmy.liu [mailto:jimmy.liu@mipinternetsolution.org.cn]
Sent: Monday, March 31, 2008 8:29 AM
Subject: URGENT - dispute of network domain name and trademark

Thank you for your reply. Domain name registration is open in China, as a registration organization, we have this obligation to inform you because what "Z-S Media Corporation "wants to register refer to your intellectual property rights and trademark, it will effect you badly in developing in China. According to the related rules, you have the priority to register, so we want to ask you whether you need to protect? We hope you can give us a clear response. If you need, I will send you an application form and quotations. If not, we will register for "Z-S Media Corporation".

Look forward to hearing from you.

________________________________________
jimmy.liu
2008-04-01

I never wrote Mr. Jimmy Liu back but according Alice Xia my domain is still available so I guess I needed worry until another company tries to register our domain in China.

9 comments:

Bob Carney said...

funny mine was from Alice in the "Checking Department"

Unknown said...

I just went through the same thing and thankfully saw your posts. So would you say I could ignore this, what are they up to??? Below is what I received...

Subject: China_The Confirmation Of Intellectual Property



Dear President&CEO,

We are a Domain Name registration service company which is a professional Internet Domain Name Registration and dispute resolution organization in China.
On January. 25th,2010, We received MEIHUA Investment company's application that they are registering the name " videotripper" as their Internet Keyword

and " videotripper .cn "、" videotripper .com.cn " 、" videotripper .asia " 、" videotripper .hk "domain names etc..,It is China and ASIA

and HongKong domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so

I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe

for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let

the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!

Best regards,


Alice Zhou
Checking Department Manager

------------------------------------------------
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
3002, Nanhai Building ,854.Nandan Road
Xuhui District, Shanghai 200070
Tel:+86 216296 2950
Fax:+86 216296 1557
Email : alice@cnnetwork.org

Web: http://www.cnnetwork.org

miko said...

Sorry for the late reply. I would say ignore.

Donny said...

I got one too.

Dear President&CEO,

We are a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in Shanghai, China.
On July 15th, 2010, we received an application from MEIHUA Group requested"comicsinventory"
as their internet keyword and China (CN) domain names. But after checking ,we find this name is conflict
with your company's name or trademark. In order to deal with this issue better, it's necessary to send this email
to you and confirm with your company whether this company is your distributor or business partner in China?

Looking forward to your reply

Best regards,

Alice
Alice Zhou
Checking Department
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
3002, Nanhai Building ,854.Nandan Road
Xuhui District, Shanghai 200070
Tel:+86 216296 2950
Fax:+86 216296 1557
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Email : alice@cnnetwork.org
Web: http://www.Cnnetwork.org

apt pupil said...

We received the same thing. Has anyone tried to follow up with them? They aren't requesting any information or offering their services, but I suppose if we were to reply they would do so? Any advice?

miko said...

Dear apt pupil,

I would say just ignore.

Unknown said...

Hello, We got the same. Ignore these people.

A couple of months ago I received a similar question, from another company and the person named John and I answered to it. They replied but it all got a scent of fake. Today I got the same email as Donny.

ArtesanĂ­a Hermanos S.C. said...

Me too, see the e-mail that they send me:


Dear Manager:
We are a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in Shanghai, China. On November,1st,2010, We received HUAXIA Company's application that they are registering the name "conarpe" as their Internet Trademark and "conarpe.cn","conarpe.com.cn" ,"conarpe.asia"domain names etc.,It is China and ASIA domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!
Kind regards
Angela Zhang
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
Registration Department Manager
3002, Nanhai Building 854.Nandan Road
Xuhui District, Shanghai
Email: info@yg-networks.com
Anhui Office
Office: +86 0553 4994789
Fax: +86 0553 4994789
web: http://www.xxxxxxxx.org

miko said...

Got another one...

(This is very urgent, Please forward this to your CEO.)
Dear CEO,
We are the department of Asian Domain registration service in China, have something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on December 15, 2010. one company which self-styled "Doyter Investment Co. Ltd " were applying to register "XXXXX" as Brand Name and following domain names:

After our initial checking, we found the brand name were similar to your company's, so we need to check with you whether your company has authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this, we will finish the registration at once. If you did not authorize, please let us know within 7 workdays, so that we will handle this issue better. Out of the time limit we will unconditionally finish the registration for "Doyter Investment Co. Ltd ".
 
Best Regards,
 
Jack Chen
Senior Consultant